Monday, October 19, 2015

The Devil's Masquerade (Royal Pains Book 3) +Giveaway +Review

Today, we are hosting the blog tour for THE DEVIL'S MASQUERADE, book three in Nina Mason’s erotic historical series ROYAL PAINS. Set in Great Britain during the Restoration period, the series chronicles the sexual, marital, and political exploits of Robert and Maggie Armstrong, the Duke and Duchess of Dunwoody.

Buy it now!
Here's the blurb:
Beware the devil in disguise… 

The year is now 1685 and Maggie’s father has just been crowned King of Great Britain, but that doesn’t mean trouble is over for the Duke and Duchess of Dunwoody. Rather than cool the flames of hatred between Papists and Protestants, the coronation of a Catholic monarch has only added accelerant to the already raging blaze. Two-faced devils lurk in every corner of the royal court, as do diseases with the power to kill and maim. When Robert falls prey to the smallpox virus, it looks as though Maggie will lose the two people most precious to her—her beloved husband and their only child—the son she bore three months before after five years of heartbreaking miscarriages and stillbirths. The one person in London who can help save her son demands a steep price in exchange her services. Will Maggie trade Robert’s hard-won fidelity to save her only child…or offer the apothecary an even more scandalous alternative?

Note: ROYAL PAINS contains highly erotic content and is intended to be read in order.

Enter the rafflecopter giveaway for a chance to win signed copies of the first two books in the ROYAL PAINS series!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

 Watch the trailer!

This is the third book in this series and they must be read in order to understand what is happening.  Several years have passed since the end of the second book.  Maggie's father is now the king and has moved them into them into live with him in the palace.  After many tries they finally have a child, Jamie.  They have had to put almost a complete stop to their spicy extracurricular activities.  Life in the Palace is a difficult thing.  There are traitors everywhere. People who are pretending to be loyal to the king but in fact are plotting behind his back.  Maggie is separate from her siblings because she is a bastard child and they were born royal and married into royalty as well.  Robert gets sick with the small pox and Maggie is worried he will die.  She was engrafted against small pox so she his nurse while he is ill.  They are all telling her to prepare for the worst but she refuses to believe or give up hope that Robert won't recover.  Robert does indeed recover and worries that his son will get small pox.  Once he learns about the engrafting he wants Jamie to have it done.  The doctor refuses but he is the same man that helped him recover in the last book.  He says that his daughter might be willing to do it; he gives Robert the address.  Robert goes to see her alone fearing her reaction to him and not wanting to hurt or upset Maggie in any way.  When he gets there he is taken by how beautiful she is and his reaction to her.  She wants him to make good on his promise from all those years ago and give her a night of passion she will never forget.  What will Maggie say?  Robert can't stand the thought of hurting Maggie in anyway. Will this put another strain on their marriage or will Maggie manage to surprise Robert once again?  This book is just as great as the first two in the series.  I love Maggie and Robert.  The book has mystery, intrigue, romance, and more.  Robert and Maggie's marriage is different for people of their class for the time.  They married for love instead of power or something else.  There are lots of twists and turns in the book.  It seems like there is always someone who wants to stand in the way of their love.  Another great job Nina.  I look forward to reading the next book in this series.

Check out the first two books in the ROYAL PAINS series:

About the author
Nina Mason is an incurable romantic who strives to write the same kind of books she loves to read: those that entertain, edify, educate, and enlighten.

The Devil's Masquerade is the third book in her Royal Pains series and her sixth book overall. Her seventh book, Dark and Stormy Knight, the second installment in her Knights of Avalon series, will be released by Lyrical/Kensington on Jan. 5.

No comments:

Post a Comment